Gay marriage in the world

The first law providing for marriage of people of the same sex in modern times was enacted in 2001 in the Netherlands. As of 26 June 2015, thirteen countries (Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, France, Iceland, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden and Uruguay) and certain sub-jurisdictions (parts of Denmark, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States) allow same-sex couples to marry. Similar laws in Finland, Ireland and Slovenia are not yet in force.

Polls show rising support for legally recognizing same-sex marriage in the Americas, Australia and most of Europe. However, as of 2015, South Africa is the only African country where same-sex marriage is legal, and none of the Asian countries have legalized same-sex marriage so far.

gay marriage

Same-sex marriage can provide those in same-sex relationships who pay t/heir taxes with government services and make financial demands on them comparable to those afforded to and required of those in opposite-sex marriages.

In Mexico, same-sex marriages are performed in Mexico City (2010) and in four states: Quintana Roo (2012), Coahuila (2014), Chihuahua (2015) and Guerrero (2015), but same-sex marriages are legally recognized throughout the country.

USA, Lincoln
USA, Redding
USA, Batavia
USA, Pittsburgh
USA, Granite Falls
USA, Delaware
Taquin 63
Canada, Montreal
USA, Carson City
Canada, Montreal